• HomeCentral Universities in India

  • (3 out of 5 based on 90 Ratings)

Given below is the list of Top Central Universities in India 2023 approved by UGC. First for the benefit of those who do not know- A central university also known as a union university formed by an act of Parliament. As such, there is a special act in the form of Central Universities Act 2009 that regulates and governs these universities. These universities are under the purview of the Department of Higher Education of the Human Resources and Development Ministry of the Government of India. Central universities are permitted to award their own degree however they are restricted from granting affiliation to colleges. As per UGC's latest publicized list, there are 46 deemed central universities in India offering MBA, Btech, Mtech and Ph.D programs.

Andhra Pradesh -

Central University of Andhra Pradesh, Anantapur
National Sanskrit University (previously Rashtriya Sanskrit Vidyapeeth), Tirupati

Arunachal Pradesh -

Rajiv Gandhi University,  Itanagar

Assam -

Assam University, Silchar
Tezpur University, Tezpur

Bihar -

Central University of South Bihar, Chhajjubagh
Mahatma Gandhi Central University, East Champaran
Nalanda University, Nalanda

Delhi -

Central Sanskrit University, New Delhi
Indira Gandhi National Open University, New Delhi
Jamia Millia Islamia, New Delhi
Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi
Shri Lal Bahadur Shastri Rashtriya Sanskrit Vidyapith, New Delhi
South Asian University, New Delhi
University of Delhi, Delhi

Gujarat -

Central University of Gujarat, Gandhinagar

Haryana -

Central University of Haryana, Mahendergarh

Himachal Pradesh -

Central University of Himachal Pradesh, Dharamashala

Jammu and Kashmir -

Central University of Jammu, Jammu
Central University of Kashmir, Srinagar

Jharkhand -

Central University of Jharkhand, Ranchi

Karnataka -

Central University of Karnataka, Gulbarga

Kerala -

Central University of Kerala, Kasaragod

Chhatisgarh -

Guru Ghasidas Vishwavidyalaya, Bilaspur

Madhya Pradesh -

Dr. Harisingh Gour Vishwavidyalaya, Sagar
The Indira Gandhi National Tribal University, Anuppur

Maharashtra -

Mahatma Gandhi Antarrashtriya Hindi Vishwavidyalaya, Wardha

Manipur -

Central Agricultural University, Imphal
Manipur University, Imphal
National Sports University, Imphal

Meghalaya -

North Eastern Hill University, Shillong

Mizoram -

Mizoram University, Aizwal

Nagaland -

Nagaland University, Zunheboto

Orissa -

Central University of Orissa, Koraput

Puducherry -

Pondicherry University, Puducherry

Punjab -

Central University of Punjab, Bathinda

Rajasthan -

Central University of Rajasthan, Ajmer

Sikkim -

Sikkim University, Gangtok

Tamil Nadu -

Central university of Tamil Nadu, Tiruvarur
Indian Maritime University, Chennai

Tripura -

Tripura University, Agartala

Uttar Pradesh -

Aligarh Muslim University, Aligarh
Babasaheb Bhimrao Ambedkar University, Lucknow
Banaras Hindu University, Varanasi
Rajiv Gandhi National Aviation University, Raebareli
University of Allahabad, Allahabad

Uttarakhand -

Hemwati Nandan Bahuguna Garhwal University, Garhwal

West Bengal -

Visva Bharati, Shantiniketan

Telangana -

English & Foreign Languages University, Hyderabad
Maulana Azad National Urdu University, Hyderabad
University of Hyderabad, Hyderabad.

Open Universities in India                        

Private Universities in India                       Government Universities in India

JNU Jawaharlal Nehru University

JNU Jawaharlal Nehru University is one of the few universities in India does not require a formal introduction.

Tezpur University

Tezpur University is a UGC recognized central university formed by an act of the state legislature in 1994.

University of Delhi

University of Delhi epitomises high standards of teaching and research.

BHU Banaras Hindu University

Banaras Hindu University is a well known name among universities in India.

Indira Gandhi National Open University IGNOU

The Indira Gandhi National Open University (IGNOU), established by an Act of Parliament in 1985, has continuously striven to build an inclusive knowledge society through inclusive education.

Jamia Millia Islamia University

Jamia Millia Islamia or National Islamic University is a known name among universities in India.

Allahabad University

The University of Allahabad is a central public university.

Assam University

Assam University is teaching cum affiliating university with 35 departments under its 16 schools of learning.

Central University of Tamilnadu

Central University of Tamilnadu is a central multi-disciplinary educational established formed by an act of the India government.

Central University of Rajasthan

Central University of Rajasthan is a new central university funded by the Government of India.

Central University of Bihar

Central University of Bihar is one among the newest clan of central universities established in India.

Central University of Karnataka

Central University of Karnataka is one among the 16 new central universities established by the Government of India during the UGC's XI plan period.

Central University of Kashmir

Central University of Kashmir formerly known as Central University of Jammu and Kashmir is funded and regulated by the University Grants Commission (UGC).

Central University of Kerala

Believing strongly that "Knowledge is eternal" the Central University of Kerala was formed in 2009 under the Central Universities Act in the northern most district of Kasargod.

Central University of Punjab

The Central University of Punjab (CUPB) is a central university recognized by the University Grants Commission (UGC).

Central University of Orissa

The Central University of Orissa was formed with the aim of offering higher educational opportunities to the lesser developed district of Koraput.

Central University of Gujarat

Central University of Gujarat came into being as per the Central Universities Act passed by the Government of India in 2009.

Central University of Haryana

Central University of Haryana is one among the 15 central universities established by the central government under the eleventh five-year plan (2007-12).

Central University of Himachal Pradesh

Central University of Himachal Pradesh is UGC funded and regulated central university in India.

Central University of Jharkhand

Central University of Jharkhand was formed with the intention of incorporating an institution for teaching and research in the state.